Change the page color in InDesign Part 2

Hello everybody!

a discussion on Twitter with my colleague and amazing educator Annukka Leppänen made me realise that maybe I should complete my tutorial from yesterday. Funnily enough I have even dreamt about it. That I was asking experts how to change the background/paper for print in InDesign, like I was the student in the matter. So I decided to take the advices and my dream seriously and complete my tutorial 🙂

Anyhow. This is how I make the background of a different color in InDesign for print.

(check my former post on this here: Change the color in InDesign)

1) back to my first image, this is how my document looks like

Indesign1

2) In this case I modify the master page, as it is the master page that gives the look for all my document. To find it, I open the pages panel (window>pages) where I find the a-master on top (a-master because you can create more master pages a-, b- and so forth) (click on the pictures to see a larger version)

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 20.47.32

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 20.47.43

3) Once you double-click on the a-Master white pages, they open. What I do at this point is to chose a rectangle tool from the toolbar

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 20.52.57 this tool is the last icon on the bottom of the second group of tools in the toolbar that starts with the text tool icon

and create a form that goes a little bit over the bleed guide. That is basically own intuition. As I came to this solution on my own, I somehow decided to exceed on covering the page outside the bleed guides so that I am very very sure my printer will do as I say (normally I am more dramatic than what I show in this picture, but just to give you an idea)

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 20.56.44

4) then I change the color of the form on the menu on top

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 20.53.48    Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 20.54.56

That’s it. When I go back to my document, since I changed the master page, all my document will look like it.

Hope my dream suggested me right, and surely I have to thank Anna for her experience makes me better too. Kiitos Annukka!

That will be all for this week, stay creative and I’ll catch you on the b-side!

Leave a Reply

